Garden Park Christian Church logo

Learning

Recommended Resources

One of the ways we encourage one another is sharing tools that are helpful in specific areas and seasons of life.

There are many other materials available in our Church Library.

Web Links

Apologetics - Explaining and Defending the Christian Faith

Apologetics Resource Center www.arcapologetics.org

Ministry of Kirby Anderson www.probe.org

Ministry of Norman Geisler www.normangeisler.com

Ministry of Josh McDowell www.josh.org

Ministry of Bob Dutko www.bobdutko.com

Ministry of Ravi Zacharias www.rzim.org

Stand to Reason www.str.org

Q & A video clips www.oneminuteapologist.com

Bible Study

For a Great Bible study tool www.blueletterbible.org

For Information about “The Bethel Series” www.bethelseries.com

For a variety of study tools www.crosswalk.com

Many Outstanding Free Downloadable Resources www.ourdailybread.org (formerly www.rbc.org)

Online Evangelical Radio Teaching Ministries www.oneplace.com

Children

Keys for Kids Daily Devotional www.keysforkids.org

GPCC Summer Camp for Kids-Lake James www.ljca.org

Patch the Pirate Ministry-Ron Hamilton www.patchthepirate.org

Christian Church – Affiliated Organizations

College Press Publishing www.collegepress.com

The Christian Standard www.standardpub.com

The Lookout www.lookoutmag.com

The North American Christian Convention gotonacc.org

Counseling & Care

Ministry of Dave & Jan Dravecky www.endurance.org

Ministry of Joni Eareckson Tada www.joniandfriends.org

Ministry to families and individuals impacted by homosexuality www.restoredhopenetwork.org

Ministry to those dealing with sexual sin www.purelifeministries.org

Devotionals (Online)

Our Daily Bread www.ourdailybread.org (formerly www.rbc.org)

Streams in the Desert www.backtothebible.org

My Utmost for His Highest www.utmost.org

Sports Spectrum www.sport.org

Drama

Affordable Christian Skits www.scriptsbywarren.com

Christian Drama Share www.dramashare.org

The Skit Guys www.skitguys.com

Evangelism

Testimonies of Faith - www.iamsecond.com

Finances

Dave Ramsey – Financial Peace University www.daveramsey.com

Crown Financial Ministries www.crown.org

Islam

Answering Islam www.answer-islam.org

Beyond the Wall www.btw.imb.org

The Koran* www.sacred-texts.com

*Make sure that it is the PICKTHALL translation which is the only actual translation

that has not been softened or westernized.

Marriage & Family

Family Life Today – Dennis & Barbara Rainey www.familylife.com

Marriage Today – Jimmy & Karen Evans www.marriagetoday.com

Sacred Marriage – Gary Thomas www.garythomas.com

Love & Respect - Emerson Eggerichs www.loveandrespect.com

Focus on the Family – James Dobson www.focusonthefamily.com

Media/Television/Movies

The following are sites that review media from a Biblical perspective.

www.pluggedin.com

www.movieguide.org

www.hollywoodjesus.com

www.mastermediaintl.org

www.screenit.com

Men

The Council on Biblical Manhood & Womanhood - www.cbmw.org

Steve Farrar - www.stevefarrar.com

www.christianfathers.com

Missions

(See the “Missions” section in our web page for the sites of the missionaries supported by Garden Park)

Mission Frontiers www.missionfrontiers.org

The Pregnancy Center of Toledo www.pregnancycenter.org

Sexuality

www.pureonline.com

www.purelifeministries.org

www.ransomedheart.com

www.medinstitute.org

Step-Family

Ministry of Ron Deal www.smartstepfamilies.com

Teens

Center for Parent and Youth Understanding www.cpyu.org

Understanding Our Times

Ministry of David Reagan www.lamblion.org

Jan Markel Program www.olivetreeviews.org

Dr. Al Mohler Program www.albertmohler.com

National Events www.onenewsnow.com

Adam McManus www.theworldview.com

David Spencer ww.jihadwatch.org

www.watch.org

www.shariahthethreat.org

Women

The Council on Biblical Manhood & Womanhood - www.cbmw.org

www.justbetweenus.org

www.reviveourhearts.com

www.girlsgonewise.com

BIBLE STUDY TOOLS

Bible Dictionary (any one of the following)

New Unger’s Bible Dictionary

Nelson’s New Illustrated Bible Dictionary

New International Bible Dictionary

Bible (any one of the following)

NIV Study Bible(New International Version)

The Open Bible (New American Standard Version)

ESV Study Bible (English Standard Version – 2008)

Recommended Reading for Junior High Students

More than a Carpenter by Josh McDowell

Epic by John Eldridge

Basic Christianity by John Stott

The Kneeling Christian by an anonymous author

Stomping Out the Darkness by Dave Parks and Neil Anderson

The Life You’ve Always Wanted to Live by John Ortberg

A Shepherd Looks at the 23rd Psalm by Phillip Keller

A Layman Looks At the Lord’s Prayer by Phillip Keller

Recommended Reading for High School Students and Older

(Trilogy) What The Bible Says about God: God the Creator, God the Ruler, God the Redeemer by Jack Cottrell

Caring Enough to Confront by David Augsburger

Foxes Book of Martyrs (a classic)

God’s Smuggler by Brother Andrews

Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis

The Case for Christ by Lee Strobel

The Pursuit of God by A.W. Tozer

The Secret of Loving by Josh McDowell

The Treasure Principle by Randy Alcorn

The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis

Tortured for Christ by Richard Wurmbrand

Sit, Walk, Stand by Watchman Nee

The Way to Power and Poise by E. Stanley Jones

Here I Stand: A Life of Martin Luther by Roland H. Bainton

Recommended Readings for Christian Servant-Leaders

Dedication and Leadership by Douglas Hyde

God’s Plan for Church Leadership by Knofel Staton

How People Grow by Henry Cloud and John Townsend

Jesus Among Other Gods by Ravi Zacharias

Living by the Book by Howard & William Hendricks

Seven Practices of Effective Ministry by Andy Stanley

Spiritual Leadership by Oswald Sanders

Teaching to Change Lives by Howard Hendricks

The Emotionally Healthy Church by Peter Scazzero

The Stages of a Man’s Life by E. James Wilder

They Smell Like Sheep by Lynn Anderson

Victory Over the Darkness by Neil Anderson

When God Builds a Church by Bob Russell

Why Revival Tarries by Leonard Ravenhill

Recommended Reading for Understanding Islam

Behind the Veil: Unmasking Islam by Joseph Abd El Shafi, MD (download free at: www.answer-islam.org)

Christian Witness among Muslims: A Guide to Understand the Muslim Religion through the Eyes of Jesus

Price of Honor: Muslim Women Lift the Veil of Silence on the Islamic World by Jan Goodwin

The Facts on Islam by John Ankerberg

The Crescent Through the Eyes of the Cross: Insight from an Arab Christian by Nabeel Jabbour

Waging Peace on Islam by Christine Mallory

Books for Adults on Sexuality

Sheet Music by Dr. Kevin Lehman

The Gift of Sex by Clifford and Joyce Penner

Sacred Sex by Tim Alan Gardner

*There are also handouts on this topic, available through the church office

ArrowIcon BloggerIcon AimIcon DeliciousIcon PaperIcon EtsyIcon FacebookIcon FilmStripIcon FlickrIcon CameraIcon LaunchIcon GooglePlus2Icon GooglePlusIcon HeartIcon InformationIcon InstagramIcon LastfmIcon FrontCameraIcon LinkedInIcon EmailIcon MoneyIcon ItunesIcon MyspaceIcon OpenTableIcon PayPalIcon PencilIcon PersonIcon PhotoIcon PicasaIcon PinterestIcon PodcastIcon RssIcon ShoppingCartIcon SoundCloudIcon StarIcon TableProjectIcon TheCityIcon TumblrIcon Twitter2Icon TwitterIcon TypepadIcon VideoIcon VimeoIcon WordPressIcon YelpIcon YoutubeIcon